Technology in the classroom; Yay or Nay? (Weekly Reading Reflection Week 3)

I’ve always been a firm advocate for integrating technology into the classrooms of any grade. There are numerous advantages for having technology and interactive media integrated into curriculum. It presents the information in new and engaging ways. In this day and age, it is silly to say that our students are not using technology at home. Why not bring that knowledge and skill into the classroom?

Douglas H. Clements’ and Julie Sarama, authors of “Strip Mining for Gold: Research and Policy in Educational Technology—A Response to “Fool’s Gold,” explain the misconceptions of a research report called “Fool’s Gold.” In this report, the results deem to be misleading and half-true. Clements and Sarama explain how using the results to “Fool’s Gold” to frame how we use technology in education can be dangerous and unfair. I agree with them in that while there were valid concerns included in the report, the conclusions made from those concerns do not represent what is it really like to have technology within the classroom.

Unlike “Fool’s Gold”, “Technology and Interactive Media as Tools in Early Childhood Programs Serving Children from Birth through Age 8,” lays out some valid concerns for using technology within the classroom. However, the author explains that the research done on this subject it divided and conflicting. He or she also admits that there is more research needed in the long-term effects of using technology in the classroom. I agree with the author of this article. I do think that we still have a lot to learn about the long term effects. However, I also believe that the use of technology in every day life is going to be unavoidable. To not bring this skill-set and source of information into our classrooms would be doing our students a disservice.

One thought on “Technology in the classroom; Yay or Nay? (Weekly Reading Reflection Week 3)

  1. I think that the general consensus is that technology has great benefits when used properly. And you are so right when you state that it is silly to think that students are not using technology at home. Every year, I take an informal survey of students at my school. So many of my students have tablets, cell phones with internet access, and laptops or home computers. They have access to social media despite their young age, and know about more social media sites and websites than I can keep up with. I generally poll third through fifth grades but after a few first graders told me about their cell phones, I now poll first through fifth grade. What is also alarming is how many students are using computers and social media unsupervised for several hours a day. I find myself having to do a unit on internet safety every year for the past few years. I started with 5th grade but I’ve had to step it down to fourth grade after I received request from fourth grade students to my instagram. So even though they are using it at home, some are not using technology in a manner that is beneficial to them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

